The iPhone lock screen shows you all the notifications you’ve received but what if we wanted more privacy?

Improve your iPhone Privacy With A Setting Change

By default, an iPhone will show you a small preview of all the messages you’ve received and a preview of all the notifications from your applications, I am sure most of you will agree a little extra privacy would be nice. Improve your iPhone privacy with a setting change.

iPhone Privacy

Suppose your loved one sent you a very private message and your phone was on a table for the world to see? Having extra privacy can be really helpful and give you a little more security too. It is not just loved ones either, for example, we were in a meeting with a client and an important message came through on iMessage about the deal from our attorney and had we not enabled that feature it could have seriously derailed the meeting and cost us a lot of money and time.

You may now be thinking that you keep your iPhone close to you, but what about when you are in the shower? Our iPhones are not getting any smaller so sometimes it can be impractical to keep in your pocket.

iPhone X improves on the feature even more

With the iPhone X when the feature is enabled if a stranger sees your Notification screen they will simply see the application followed by a message saying ‘Notification’ but when you look at your phone with the use of FaceID the preview shows as though the feature was never enabled.

How do I activate the option?

You’ve seen it in action and want to do it too? Well, it is simple and we will show you how, regardless if you want to hide your privacy from strangers or just a little privacy from work colleagues, family or friends we can help you.

To switch on the option go to:

  1. Settings:

Notifications:

Messages:

Show Previews:

Show Previews IOS

You are given the option of:

Always

When Unlocked

Never

Selecting When Unlocked will give you the feature we have been talking about

There is also an option to change the default so all the applications can operate in the same way, in order to do this go to settings > Notifications > Show Previews

You can choose between: Always, When Unlocked or Never and selecting When Unlocked will hide the notification message until the iPhone is unlocked.

IOS Show Previews

Subscribe To Receive The Latest News

Subscribe to find out first about new content.

See our Privacy Policy.

Leave a Reply

chtsiserve-com

Need help or want to know more?

If you would like to learn more or are in need of support.

Or would like to discuss working together,

book an appointment or call 03330 509625

Interested and want to help smooth the process?

Install our Onboarding tool.

You can also try to reach us via our HubSpot Live Chat.

Schedule An Appointment

We would love to hear from you regarding any Outlook or Microsoft 365 Support,

IT Support, Cyber Security, WordPress Website Design or

Any Computer Support request you may have.

Get the best out of Harrogate & Yorkshire IT Support.

Please note if you are a client and need to request IT Technical Support,

please use our Client Portal

Contact Us

Tel: 03330 509625

E-mail: hello@chtsi.uk

Online Support Portal: Client Portal

Need a quick chat or request? Try our HubSpot Chat from this page.

Alternatively, use our WhatsApp Chat

Book with us

Loading...

REMOTE APPOINTMENTS NEED TO BE PAID FOR BEFORE WORK IS CARRIED OUT

Cygnatech
Published On: January 16th, 2021 / Categories: IOS /